skip navigation

Mandile Named 2021 Cy Young Award Winner

08/29/2021, 1:00pm EDT

Your 2021 Cy Young Award Winner by unanimous decision is Joe Mandile from the New Rochelle Tigers.

Mandile secures his 2nd Cy Young Award in a row (2019 & 2021), becoming only the second player in league history to do so since James Puma did back in 2017-18.

Mandile had a season for the ages, posting a 10-0 record, with 66 strikeouts, 9 complete games, and a miniscule 1.78 ERA. His pitching played a large role in the Tigers capturing their second consecutive championship trophy.

Mandile also tied two single-season records this year. His 10 wins on the mound tied Kevin Rettig's wins record, and his 9 complete games tied Jon Pollack's complete games record!

For Mandile, this is the 4th honor he has received this offseason, having already won the Gold Glove for pitcher, Manager of the Year, and being named an All-Star selection.

Congrats Joe!

Tag(s): League News  WRWBL  Tigers